Sustainable Packaging Coalition Announces 2017 SPC Innovator Award Winners

March 29, 2017

The Sustainable Packaging Coalition (SPC) has announced the winners of its 3rd annual SPC Innovator Awards (formerly known as The Trashies). The winning entries were recognized at SustPack 2017 (April 24-26) in Scottsdale, Arizona.

The awards recognize members of the Sustainable Packaging Coalition that are visionaries in packaging sustainability. Awards are given in the following categories: Packaging Innovation, Outstanding Person, Outcome of a Partnership, and Breakthrough Process. Points are awarded based on sustainability merit; technical merit; supporting materials; and contribution to the industry. The judges for this year’s competition were Lisa Pierce, editor-in-chief, Packaging Digest; Steve Mahler, Design Manager, Caraustar Industries; Kim Carswell, Director of Packaging, Target; Victor Bell, President of Environmental Packaging International; David Strauss, Head of Packaging, Nestle USA; and Adam Gendell, Associate Director, Sustainable Packaging Coalition.

“The submissions we received were a clear indicator of the impressive breadth and depth of our members’ activities in packaging sustainability”, said Gendell. “Our awardees are taking chances and deserve celebration for their enterprising and creative ideas. All of these winners went beyond the easy wins, and showed true commitment to creating meaningful change.


Award Recipients:

Packaging Innovation
Avery Dennison, CleanFlake™ Solution

Outstanding Person
Chad Kreye, Target

Outcome of a Partnership
Hefty Energy Bag

Breakthrough Process
Keurig Green Mountain
MRF Flow Study Methodology